Seeking Volunteers for IKE Dinner

The Association of the Industrial College of the Armed Forces (ICAF) and Dwight D. Eisenhower School (ES) has begun planning for the prestigious Dwight D. Eisenhower (IKE) Award Dinner that will be presented during a dining event in early 2018.

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award is named after the most illustrious student and instructor at the Army Industrial College. The school later expanded to become The Industrial College of the Armed Forces, predecessor school for what is now called the Dwight D. Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy. The award is bestowed only to those who have made exceptional contributions to the integration of technological and industrial resources of the nation for a strong U.S. national security and industrial base — a principal goal of ICAF and now ES.

To quote President Dwight D. Eisenhower, “It is my conviction that the educational programs conducted by the Industrial College are of the greatest importance in developing the kind of enlightened military and civilian leadership our Nation must have if its purpose and security are to endure.”

The Alumni Association is a non-profit 501(c)3 professional association, with a purpose to enhance the prestigious educational experience of ICAF/ES. And the awardee meets the following criteria:

  • An ICAF or ES graduate
  • An individual in support of the U.S. armed forces and other security-related agencies with strategic impact
  • A leader who has made an exceptional contribution for a strong U.S. national security and industrial base
  • An active supporter of the U.S. defense industrial base and its programs
  • A leader in defining and addressing U.S. industrial base and national security issues

Individuals who have received the ICAF Dwight D. Eisenhower Award include:

  • Former Secretary of Defense and Vice President of the U.S., Dick Cheney
  • Congressman Ike Skelton, Missouri
  • Former Secretary of Defense William Perry
  • ICAF Alumnus, General John Vessey, Former Chairman, JCS
  • ICAF Alumnus, General Duncan J. McNabb, USAF, Commander of U.S. Transportation Command
  • ICAF Alumnus, General Ann Dunwoody; First female Four-Star and Commander of Army Materiel Command
  • Former Chairman and CEO of Lockheed-Martin Corporation, Mr. Norman Augustine
  • Mr. Chet Huber, First ICAF Industry Fellow and President of OnStar
  • ICAF Alumnus, General Charles R. Holland, USAF Retired, Commander, U.S. Special Operations Command

The search committee has selected two ICAF graduates – both retired four-star general officers who are current D.C. businessmen – to be considered for the final selection of this award. The IKE Dinner Committee will plan and execute the 2018 award dinner and transition the planning for a 2020 IKE Dinner.

If you are interested in volunteering, please complete the form below and let us know!